Hello From Bradford

Please stop by and say hello when you first join. Let us know who you are, where you are and anything else you want to share.

Moderator: British BBQ Society

Hello From Bradford

Postby swebbo » 05 Jul 2011, 21:06

Hi All

I'm Stu from Bradford. I'm a BBQ newbie other than cooking sauasages on a £20 bbq from B&Q, so joining a UK forum where I hope I can get great advice when needed. Would have joined an american one, but I dont know what a cup is and can't do farenheit :?

Just got my weber 57cm kettle premium, already had some success with home made burgers and butchers bought sausages, that went down well. Then tried some ribs from the butchers. made a nice chinese marinade but had real trouble keeping the temp so low for so long, I think I turned the coals off at least 3 times and had to reignite during cooking (too many coals to begin with I suspect). Anyway turned out ok, but sh1t there was a lot of fat on those ribs. Must find better butcher!

Hope it's gonna be a great long summer for BBQ'ing

Cheers
Stu
:mrgreen:
swebbo
Got Wood!
Got Wood!

Re: Hello From Bradford

Postby Curlie028 » 05 Jul 2011, 23:07

Hi Stu and welcome.
You are in the right place if you love BBQ and have questions about BBQ.
I am also a Newbie but since joining 3 weeks ago, I've taken my BBQ skills up multiple levels. And I used to think I was good :lol:
The guys on here are passioniate about spreading the BBQ word and are as friendly and helpful a bunch you will ever come across.
My amateur answer on the coals (and the guys will jump in and correct me,if I am wrong) is you need to get better quality charcoal. In my pre BBBQ days I used the stuff you get in Tescos or B&Q but have been converted to the more expensive but much better quality Resturant Grade charcoal from my local Makro.
I don't have a kettle (yet :D) but my Weber Smokey Mountain has burned on one fill for more than 10 hours on Resturant Grade.