New to offset smoking. Help / Advice

A place to discuss low 'n' slow cooking, ask questions and share advice.

New to offset smoking. Help / Advice

Postby BigBunny » 10 May 2015, 20:42

Hello Folks,

I am very new to BBQ smoking, low and slow, so I hope you will forgive a few basic questions.

My previous BBQ Smoker (Mecco) finally rusted through after 18 years of loyal service to the family. So as it is nearly be birthday I decided on a new BBQ Smoker (Landmann Kentucky). This one has an offset firebox for smoking, whereas the Mecco was a box style (fire below the grill).

So I have been doing a lot of reading and research on the web and this weekend decided to dive in and try some pulled pork.

I very successfully cooked this last year on the Mecco for the first time.

So I built the fire, setup the water pan, seasoned the pork the night before and away we went. I used a digital probe in the pork joint. Approx 4lb in weight.

I maintained the fire at 100 – 120 Degrees C (according to the lid thermometer).

My problem was that my meat temperature got to 60 degrees and then stopped. Which I was expecting at some point as it hit “the stall”. But it did this for approx three hours.

Unfortunately after 9 hours in the smoker I ran out of time and had to stop and finish off in the oven. It was very nice all the same……. but I must be doing something wrong for the offset smoker.

Here is my setup. Which now thinking about it may have been my problem.

My smoker have two shelves in the main body (the lower one being for charcoal when using it as a BBQ). Should I have put the water on the bottom under the chimney and the meat nearer the fire / smoke inlet ?

Or is this configuration correct, and perhaps the lid thermometer is useless.

Many thanks in advance for any help / advice.

Cheers
Si
BigBunny
Still Raw Inside
Still Raw Inside

Re: New to offset smoking. Help / Advice

Postby MyLeakyBucket » 13 May 2015, 06:13