Hi from Torquay

Please stop by and say hello when you first join. Let us know who you are, where you are and anything else you want to share.

Moderator: British BBQ Society

Hi from Torquay

Postby josh18t » 07 Feb 2011, 19:25

Hi guys I'm a bbq newbie.

I'm trying to build my own smoker at the moment, and hoping to get cooking next week :)
josh18t
Got Wood!
Got Wood!

Re: Hi from Torquay

Postby All Weather Griller » 07 Feb 2011, 19:34

Welcome, welcome.

Sounds like an interesting project you have going there. What kind of smoker are you building.

Do you have any pics? (viewtopic.php?f=5&t=4)

Regards

Adie
All Weather Griller

Postby josh18t » 07 Feb 2011, 19:46

It's a drum smoker (mounted horizontally) with a firebox underneath made from a medium sized gas canister. I plan on making it reverse flow as well, as i have a fair bit of mild steel sheet laying around. I'll try and get some pic's up but its my first attempt at welding so its not looking very pretty :)

I've gotta get rid of the smell from the drum badly though as it came from wrigley's and stinks of mint flavouring.
josh18t
Got Wood!
Got Wood!

Postby Steve » 07 Feb 2011, 19:50

Minty pork :lol:

Can't wait to see the pictures, sounds like an interesting project.
Steve
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby All Weather Griller » 07 Feb 2011, 19:54

Hey do your first few cooks with Lamb. No one will know any different :lol:

Pretty smokers don't always cook well. We'd appreciate glimse regardless of her cosmetics. There are no BBQ Snobs here :D

Sounds like an interesting project with a underslung firebox, will you be feeding the heat from the box into one particular side or the other to make it a reverse flow?
All Weather Griller

Postby josh18t » 07 Feb 2011, 20:46

I plan on having the firebox exhaust going into the same side of the exhaust of the oil drum. I want to try and get the temperature as consistent as possible throughout the cooking chamber, from one end to the other. Here's a picture so far.