My Oil Drum project

Please feel free to post reviews of new barbecues, gadgets and of course food. The opinions within the forum are not necessarily that of the web site owner!

My Oil Drum project

Postby esselle » 01 Mar 2010, 20:46

Early pic this one. I have now had two custom stays made (a bit like old style car bonnet stays). I couldn't find anyway of making the grill and ashpan so have had to order that from a company online and that is my next step. I will put the next pics on when that arrives.

esselle
Rubbed and Ready
Rubbed and Ready

Re: My Oil Drum project

Postby Steve » 01 Mar 2010, 21:37

Great to see your project underway.

To answer your question about painting the inside...

Now I'm no expert but you said you wanted to grill in the main chamber too, I don't think even VHT paint will cope with that. My UDS is painted on the outside with VHT engine paint which is rated to 600C but I wouldn't trust it inside. You have to remember the bottom and top of an Excel are porcelain coated and the stackers aren't rated for direct heat.

I've just seasoned the inside of the UDS with cooking oil. I.e. I rubbed it down with oil then I gave it a nice long burn at around 300F. This should hopefully protect it from rusting.

Are you planning to spot weld a bit of flat bar around your door to get a good seal? Also you said you were building an offset, what you making your firebox out of? 1/4"?
Steve
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby esselle » 02 Mar 2010, 20:54

I did get some strip to weld on the door but I think it's a bit thick - it's about 1/4 inch I think- what would you suggest - and any suggestions for the offset would be greatly appreciated too thanks again
esselle
Rubbed and Ready
Rubbed and Ready

Postby Steve » 02 Mar 2010, 22:04

Hopefully Al will comment as he's the BBQ building expert on here. Like I said I'm no expert but I'll share what I think.