Offset smoker woes

A place to discuss low 'n' slow cooking, ask questions and share advice.

Offset smoker woes

Postby The Big Kahuna » 09 May 2011, 20:55

Greetings all....my first post!

I'm a newbie to the world of BBQ smoking and would appreciate some advice.

I've recently purchased an offset smoker (Landmann Tennessee), with hindsight it probably wasn't the best idea to go for an offset but it was going cheap so I thought I'd give it a try.

I've had a few practice runs, playing around with different charcoal and added a few mods to the smoker. I seem to be following all the best advice: My charcoal comes from a local supplier, it's all hardwood. I've created a basket for the charcoal in the fire pit, with the theory being it gives me more control of the charcoal and lets more air get to it. I've also employed the "minion" method to burning the charocoal.

The problem is it's almost impossible for me to control the temperature. Within 10-15 minutes all of my charcoal seems to be burning and the temp sky rockets. Same thing happens if I don't use the basket mod.

Any advice on how I could control the temp and/or speed at which my charcoal is burning? If I do manage to control the temp I cant image I'm going to get a 10-12 hour burn from the relatively small fire pit, so how would I replenish the charcoal if using the "minion" method...? Just wait for it to burn out and start again with lit coals on the top?

Thanks guys.

TBK
The Big Kahuna
Still Raw Inside
Still Raw Inside

Re: Offset smoker woes

Postby clairbare » 09 May 2011, 21:06

Welcome to the forum, I am sure someone will come on soon to help. We used the minion method on our pro-q and when the coal started to run low we just chucked unlit onto the hot coals as the cook progressed, not sure if this is what other do though :)
clairbare
Twisted Firestarter
Twisted Firestarter

Postby All Weather Griller » 09 May 2011, 21:06