Beef Ribs

A place to discuss low 'n' slow cooking, ask questions and share advice.

Beef Ribs

Postby essexsmoker » 01 Aug 2015, 20:23

Hi All, got some beef ribs Friday evening and have just opened them to cook tomorrow. I've never done them before and was slightly taken aback by the smell. They are vac packed and I wondered if it was that. They smell pretty bad to me and I wonder if that's normal? Hard to describe the smell but my wife could smell it when she came in the door front door!

Thanks.
essexsmoker
Rubbed and Ready
Rubbed and Ready

Re: Beef Ribs

Postby jez2775 » 01 Aug 2015, 20:28

I had the same issue with a brisket recently, spoke to the company I bought from and they advised me to rinse under cold running water, which did the job, meat tasted incredible.
jez2775
Got Wood!
Got Wood!

Postby essexsmoker » 01 Aug 2015, 20:33

I did that but not sure it was any better. Mind you it might just be that the room smelt of it. Have finished prepping and put them in the fridge. Will have another sniff tomorrow but I think I will take them back if not better.
essexsmoker
Rubbed and Ready
Rubbed and Ready

Postby essexsmoker » 02 Aug 2015, 06:56

Well I've had a sniff and they aren't as strong as they were. I remember having mince smell like it does now and it was fine. I don't have beef very often so kinda forget how it can smell. Best before on the packet is September, so think I'll risk it. I get sick pay anyway. Lmao. :D
essexsmoker
Rubbed and Ready
Rubbed and Ready

Postby Dduffs71 » 02 Aug 2015, 10:03

So! How did the beef ribs cook/taste? I have some single beef ribs in the freezer and haven't cooked them before, so would interested to hear. Was yours a rack of ribs or individual?
Dduffs71
Got Wood!
Got Wood!

Postby essexsmoker » 02 Aug 2015, 13:19