GRRRR Brisket

A place to discuss low 'n' slow cooking, ask questions and share advice.

GRRRR Brisket

Postby BASCOM » 07 May 2015, 21:20

Hi all

Having recently received a WSM for my birthday, I have turned my attention to cooking me a brisket..
Now, im no newbie to this bbq business so ive got a good grip on what to do..

So after doing plenty of reading up about brisket I set to the task, but came across a few issues

1) A packer brisket will set you back a good £40-£50 notes,
now im all for spending ££ on a good piece of meat but want some experience of cooking smaller cuts first

2) Finding info on cooking smaller cuts of brisket are few and far between, think I found two threads on other forums that I will post here if able.

Ok so went out and got me 2 rolled briskets
I know rolled brisket isn't the best because of the fat cap has all but been cut off but everybody gotta start somewhere RIGHT

my hard and fast notes for brisket where

BBQ TEMP 225F-250F
INTERNAL TEMP OF 200-205F
IF FOILING (TEXAS CRUTCH) DO SO AT 160F-170F
STALL HAPPENS BETWEEN 150F-170F
TO SHORTEN STALL YOU CAN RAISE TEMPS OF COOKER UP TO 275F

Monitored by maverick et 72

1st brisket tried the texas crutch, but temps only got to 190f before I pulled it rested and ate, it was a little dry.
think where I went wrong was pulling it before the 200f threshold

2nd brisket didn't crutch but had bit of a coal nightmare, got internal temps to about 180f but was getting late, pulled foiled and stuck in the oven and then duly cremated :(

I know some if my issues may just be the meat that ive brought and the slight errors made but the meat still wasn't a moist as I would have thought..
anyone got tips for anyone wanting to do brisket but cant afford to splash the cash on a HUGE HUNK of meat you might cremate anyway

its like a classic catch 22 situation

think the moderators should start a thread LEAN or Rolled brisket to help us/ ME out :D

please be constructive with answers
BASCOM
Got Wood!