Weber Kettle competitors

Feel free to ask any questions, one of the experts will certainly respond, don't be afraid to ask anything, we were all beginners at some point.

Weber Kettle competitors

Postby InfantHercules » 29 May 2017, 12:12

Hi All,

I'm going to purchase a kettle at some point in the next few weeks and intend on it being my go to appliance for basic smoking and grilling. I currently use a basic open top charcoal BBQ for grilling and a homemade UDS for smoking. I'm a happy novice at all types of cooking.

I was thinking about going for the Weber 57cm Bar B Kettle. It looks like it will fulfil my needs and I'm not completely sure what the upgraded models (e.g. The performer) would give me to justify the extra cost.

Two questions I have where it'd be great to get other opinions;

1) are the more expensive Weber kettle models generally considered worth the increased cost and if so, why?

2) should I be considering alternative kettle brands? There are kettle barbecues at half of the price that look identical to a novice like me. Instinct tells me there's a good reason for the price difference but at the same time I want to make sure I'm not paying more just for a name.

Cost is moderately important to me though I'm not stuck to a specific budget. Value supersedes cost.

Thanks for any help :-)
Matt
InfantHercules
Still Raw Inside
Still Raw Inside

Re: Weber Kettle competitors

Postby Tiny » 29 May 2017, 15:08

Afternoon chum,
I was always vehemently anti Weber as I believed there products over priced for what they were, until I got one. Admittedly mine cost just £49 in an end of season flash sale from B and Q but below are my answers to your questions.

Question 2.