What to buy... Drum/barrel BBQ?

Feel free to ask any questions, one of the experts will certainly respond, don't be afraid to ask anything, we were all beginners at some point.

What to buy... Drum/barrel BBQ?

Postby Bucksend » 06 Jun 2016, 15:21

Hi,

I am new to the world of 'propper BBQing' and am looking to purchase a decent BBQ. Funds are rather limited but I would like to ask a simple question...

Can you recommend a decent horizontal barrel/drum style BBQ suitable for regular grilling and smoking?

More info... I would like to have a go at smoking and have watched enough videos to know that offset smokers are C##p unless you spend big money. I also know that the upright drum style smokers are best value/simplest to use but not so good for grilling. I am also aware that a Weber Kettle is what i should be getting(more on that in a mo). I was hoping to get a barrel/drum BBQ as it would fit in my shed allot easier than a large circular kettle style but all that I have seen seem to be very cheap(in quality, prices vary allot). I hope I am making sense.

If I should be getting a Webber which size do I need to be able to get the meat far enough away from the coals to cook low and slow? Remember my budget is little and I will probably only smoke with it a handful of times compared to regular grilling.

Thanks for reading all the above, I have done a bit of reasearch but seem to be stuck, can you help me please?

Many thanks
Bucksend
Still Raw Inside
Still Raw Inside

Re: What to buy... Drum/barrel BBQ?

Postby BraaiMeesterWannabe » 07 Jun 2016, 21:27

Hey buck

I think the ProQ smokers can be used for hot and fast as well, but not sure about that. Maybe overkill though if you'll mainly be grilling.