Noobie needs smoking help

Feel free to ask any questions, one of the experts will certainly respond, don't be afraid to ask anything, we were all beginners at some point.

Noobie needs smoking help

Postby Pete » 23 Jan 2011, 16:15

Hi all. I am a complete noob at smoking but very keen. I thought I would start with buying a cheap barrel style with a offset fire box, to basically learn with. As I thought there's no point getting a dogs danglies one as the smoker is only as good as the chief.

The one I bought http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... K:MEWNX:IT

I have read about the modifications that people do to help control the heat. So I have started with extending the chimney to the cooking great.

Basically I tried to cook a rack off ribs. I left the air flow regulator open fully and left it for 1 1/2 hours. But the temp nether got over 60C !

What am I doing wrong ?

Thanks
Pete.
Pete
Still Raw Inside
Still Raw Inside

Re: Noobie needs smoking help

Postby All Weather Griller » 23 Jan 2011, 16:58

Hi Pete,

There is a good chance that you have a few leaks especially around the doors on those things. I got a good tip from the BBQ Legend that is Johnny Trigg and he suggested that you need to seal the doors on these offsets.

The plan is:

1. Use heavy duty axle grease around the outside of the grill chamber access door.

2. Use high heat silicon sealant and apply a generous bead to the body of the smoker around the opening for the main cooking chamber.

3. Close the lid tight and leave for over 24 hours, the grease will prevent the lid sticking to the body but provide you with a perfect seal.

Another thing to check is the quality of your fuel. There are a number of people on here that use Offsets both R/F and Straight Through so you should be able to expect some responses soon.