Getting Kitted Up for Very First Cook

Feel free to ask any questions, one of the experts will certainly respond, don't be afraid to ask anything, we were all beginners at some point.

Getting Kitted Up for Very First Cook

Postby Alice's Restaurant » 23 Nov 2010, 12:14

Hi there

I'm an American ex-pat living in Surrey and I've bought my English partner a smoker for Christmas--here's the stuff I've got so far:

ProQ Frontier -- we're not going to cook for big crowds -- say 2-6 people + leftovers

Charcoal starter chimney thingie

Hickory Woodchips

Maverik 732 (the new one) is on pre-order by my sister in Virginia -- hopefully to arrive in time for Xmas

I still need to get lump or briquette so I'm studying forum to see which one to do

On another note--I bought the ProQ cold smoker attachment and some oak dust 'cause I know the partner is interested in this too.

I don't want to go too gadget mad 'cause there's a lot of kit out there, but is there anything else I need to get started--I know I need some meat hahaha but I'm working on that too. My local butcher and I are trying to communicate.

You know that book Low and Slow...Wiviott is the author's name? He seems a little dogmatic--is this a nice book to order for a beginner or is there something else?

Thanks guys and love the forum! : )

Regards, Alice
Alice's Restaurant
Got Wood!
Got Wood!

Re: Getting Kitted Up for Very First Cook

Postby clairbare » 23 Nov 2010, 13:22

HI Alice and welcome to the forum.

You seem to be pretty much kitted out by the sounds of it - although I am very new to all this too, I am sure the more experienced will come on soon with some good tips/advice.

Regarding books - you can find almost everything you need to on the internet now so I wouldn't particularly worry about any books, and I am sure others will agree it's the practice that makes all the difference :)

Make sure you post any pictures etc of your cooks - what a great xmas present btw :D