Advice on what smoker

Feel free to ask any questions, one of the experts will certainly respond, don't be afraid to ask anything, we were all beginners at some point.

Advice on what smoker

Postby Bazrazmataz » 24 Jun 2015, 19:23

Hi all I'm pretty new to smoking and am just after some advice. A few months back I picked up a very cheap £30 bullet style smoker just for a play with its cooked some lovely meats but it's a real pain to control temps and I can't fit much meat on it either, one thing in particular i don't enjoy is having to sit on the floor to keep and eye one it.

So as my annual bonus is due at work and I am looking for a new smoker the next step up and something I can fit more meat on. I did like the look off offset smokers and am not adverse to some slight modifications but I'm reading so much online that contradicts my head had become scrambled. I don't want to become a pro just smoke some nice pork and brisket at home on the weekends. I'd like something I can use stood up or on a chair if that makes sense and with easy access to the fire pit and food chamber as my current one has tiny little flaps.

I'm looking to spend around £250 but really struggling to decide I had been looking at a landmann Kentucky and a char griller. One problem I'm finding is so much of the info online is USA based and I don't seem to be able to get much of that equipment over here.

Id appreciate any help.

Many thanks
Bazrazmataz
Still Raw Inside
Still Raw Inside

Advice on what smoker

Postby TakingtheBrisket » 25 Jun 2015, 16:29

Probably best with a wsm or a proq. They are both bullet types that alot of us have. With an off set you'll spend alot of time tending to the fire whilst with the previous mention if set correctly you'll get a good smoke. Or there's weber kettles which you can do direct and indirect on
TakingtheBrisket
Got Wood!
Got Wood!

Re: Advice on what smoker

Postby Tiny » 25 Jun 2015, 19:08

DO ?NOT BUY THE LANDMANN!!