Decent bbq for grilling

Feel free to ask any questions, one of the experts will certainly respond, don't be afraid to ask anything, we were all beginners at some point.

Decent bbq for grilling

Postby Hull BBQ » 07 May 2015, 21:03

Hi,

I've been using a 57cm Weber kettle for a couple of years and it seems adequate for the occasional smoke but have decided to step up to a 47cm smokey mountain. I've always found the 57cm kettle too big for everyday bbqing, I've taken to raising the coal grill up on bricks to bring the coals closer to the food but it's not ideal. Is there a premium non-kettle bbq for grilling food that uses less coals or has less distance from coal to cooking grill? Quite liked the look of the landmann Taurus 440 but reviews suggest build quality issue. Anything made up to weber standards that fit the bill?

Thanks in advance.
Hull BBQ
Got Wood!
Got Wood!

Re: Decent bbq for grilling

Postby aris » 08 May 2015, 15:24

Weber do a 47cm model.
aris
Rubbed and Ready
Rubbed and Ready

Postby Hull BBQ » 09 May 2015, 00:59

It's not the size of the current weber that's the problem, more the lack of flexibility. Doing a small grilling is really hard to do without wasting a ton of coal but the size is good for a bigger party. I don't really want to have 3 bbqs in the garden.
Hull BBQ
Got Wood!
Got Wood!

Postby TheHowster » 09 May 2015, 07:34

Can the bottom of the WSM function as a portable/table top grill?
TheHowster
Got Wood!
Got Wood!

Postby Tiny » 09 May 2015, 08:26

Morning chum,
First time I have ever heard dissatisfaction with an Weber but I guess I know what you mean WRT charcoal useage. You could of course go for the Baby weber the smokey Joe and the smaller weber chimney, or find one of the Hibachi style tabletop grills which are ideal for the just a couple of chops.