New to smoking - What to start with? - VERDICT

Feel free to ask any questions, one of the experts will certainly respond, don't be afraid to ask anything, we were all beginners at some point.

New to smoking - What to start with? - VERDICT

Postby Dman » 02 Oct 2014, 13:41

Greetings all. Complete newbie and non-cook here.

My wife bought me a WSM 47 for my birthday and I'm quite eager to get started with it. I already own a One Touch 57 but although I've had a lot of happy eaters from my food, there's no method to my cooking other than sticking hot coals on and putting more on when the temperature goes down, while checking the food periodically.

Now I've got the smoker I want to get into it properly. I've bought the Maverick ET372 and have bought some heat beads and Supagrill lumpwood so I can experiment with the two, I've also started with some hickory wood chunks to get me going along with one of the Weber books.

So. What do I start with meat wise? I've seen the post from Harry Soo recommending the seasoning and a few 'dry runs' before cooking to eat so I'll be getting onto that, but when it comes to cooking to eat I want to start off with an 'easy' option so I don't get too disheartened if it turns out crap. My first target to get to is a whole chicken for Sunday lunch but I want to walk before I run...

Any other things I need to take into account? I've been having a good look around these forums and elsewhere online, I've got a mate who's giving me some recipes for some rubs, but we've got a gathering for fireworks in November and I'd love to be able to dish out some decent pulled pork or something on the night...

Many thanks in advance.
Dman
Still Raw Inside
Still Raw Inside

Re: New to smoking - What to start with?

Postby keith157 » 02 Oct 2014, 14:22