I've gone over to the dark side.

Feel free to ask any questions, one of the experts will certainly respond, don't be afraid to ask anything, we were all beginners at some point.

I've gone over to the dark side.

Postby Steve » 08 Sep 2010, 18:02

I've been wanting to play with a pellet pooper for a while and this week I got the opportunity to pick up a bargain ex-demo Traeger Lil Tex. Thanks Jackie :D

Anyway I've got it so that I can learn about cooking with pellets and see whether I get along with them. But I've never used one in anger before so any beginners tips from the Pellet experts on here will be greatly received.
Steve
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: I've gone over to the dark side.

Postby joker smoker » 08 Sep 2010, 20:22

when cooking on the Traeger buy extra beer as you'll have more time to sit back and relax whilst the Traeger does the work :D
joker smoker
Rubbed and Ready
Rubbed and Ready

Postby Steve » 08 Sep 2010, 20:38

Good tip, I didn't figure that into the running costs ;)
Steve
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby Banjo » 08 Sep 2010, 20:39

Steve wrote:... I've never used one in anger before so any beginners tips from the Pellet experts on here will be greatly received.

Anything you want to know, just ask......I've been using mine for getting on for four weeks now. :roll:

To be honest, to say I'm pleased with it is an understatement. :)
Banjo
Got Wood!
Got Wood!

Postby Chris__M » 08 Sep 2010, 23:25

Steve wrote:But I've never used one in anger before so any beginners tips from the Pellet experts on here will be greatly received.

Surely that should be "never used one in auger before"?

Having said that I was going to persist with smoking on my Weber kettle, I've persuaded myself to take a trip down to Jackie's myself, towards the end of the month. I've been getting fair results with the kettle, but have got bored with the constant balancing act.
Chris__M
Rubbed and Ready
Rubbed and Ready

Postby Steve » 09 Sep 2010, 06:43