What Smoker to Buy - Please Help

Feel free to ask any questions, one of the experts will certainly respond, don't be afraid to ask anything, we were all beginners at some point.

What Smoker to Buy - Please Help

Postby Irish BBQ » 27 Jul 2010, 09:58

Hi

I am new to smoking and i need some good advice from the experts regarding which smoker to purchase. I am undecided between purchasing an Excel 20, Cookshack electric smoker or FEC 100. I have more or less discarded the Bradley smoker as it just seems inferior to other smokers and expensive for the pucks.

I understand there is vast difference in price between them all and my long term goal is to work the farmers markets in Ireland selling the BBQ as a small business. I'm therefore looking to produce consistent quality BBQ.

Any help with regard to this would be greatly appreciated as i don't want to make the wrong purchase at the start.

Thanks

Karl
Irish BBQ
Still Raw Inside
Still Raw Inside

Re: What Smoker to Buy - Please Help

Postby MadCow » 27 Jul 2010, 10:59

Obviously I am slightly biased toward the Cookshack and FEC100 as I sell them, but I would rather you bought the right cooker to suit your needs.

What you need to decide is how much you will be cooking, how automated you want the cooking to be and of course, how much you want to spend ...

The Excel 20 is a good cooker but you can't get a great amount of product inside it and you will need to keep an eye on temperatures.

The Cookshack electric smokers are automatic, they use electricity as the heat source and wood as a flavour .. (not suitable for competition cooking in the BBBQS) but you can use any self-sourced woods as long as they are hardwood, nut or fruit wood.

The FEC100 gives the most consistent flavour and a nice delicate smoked flavour, again fully automatic, but you might need to find a supplier of pellets over in Ireland as the delivery costs might outweigh the benefits of the cooker.