Charcoal - more information

Feel free to ask any questions, one of the experts will certainly respond, don't be afraid to ask anything, we were all beginners at some point.

Charcoal - more information

Postby County4x4 » 05 Mar 2010, 14:00

Hi all,

Here are a few pics of our charcoal briquettes to give you an idea. Sorry about the quality, but the camera batteries were dead so had to resort to the mobile! They are on a sheet of A4 paper which obviously shows up real well against the white desk - doh! My trusty Lister mug appears too - just for scale.

What would you think would be a fair price on these? I've had a quick look round this morning and seen prices like Weber at £5 for 3kg, Weber at £7 for 5kg and Big K at £13 for 10kg. Not being an expert, I don't know if these would be considered about right - I guess some places will charge more and some less? These are being supplied in 10 kilo bags at the moment. I guess this is where someone jumps in and says "£1.50 a bag mate!"

From my point of view - obviously I know what they're costing - and (hopefully) obviously I need to make a little on them. What I'm not wanting to do is pitch them right at the top of what you'd be prepared to pay - I'd be happier (and poorer - story of my life!) meeting you in the middle somewhere. So what do you think?

As before, but just for the record, these are produced from 100% wood briquettes, made right here in the UK from oak with the odd bit of cedar now and again. There are no additives, artificial or otherwise, of any sort - just 100% wood.

Cheers for now,

Andy
County4x4
Got Wood!
Got Wood!

Re: Charcoal - more information

Postby Steve » 07 Mar 2010, 22:13

Hey Andy,

Makro/Booker - restaurant grade lump 12Kg = £12
Big K restaurant lump 15KG = £15
Big K standard briquettes 5kg = £5
Supagrill Cocoshell briquettes 5KG = £5.99

That's standard prices for good products. Yu've already mentioned the heat beads prices too.